Name and Address Changes
A personal name or mailing address change must be submitted to the board office. Include your previous name, new address, license number, and phone number. You may submit your changes in writing or via e-mail. If you would like your name changed on your license, submit your request with a $10.00 fee.
N.D. Law, Rules & Regulations
Printed law, rules & regulations books are available at the board office for $15.00
Rules & Regulations posters are available at no charge.
Obtaining License Certifications
To receive certification of your North Dakota license, please send the certification fee of $20.00 to our office.
With your request, you should include the licensee name, address, phone number, license number and the address where the verification is to be mailed. If you have a verification form that needs to be completed, include that with your request.
Please allow a minimum of two weeks for your request to be processed
Business Names of Salons or Booth Rentals
Business names of salons or booth rentals must be registered as a trade name with the Secretary of State. You may contact the Secretary of State's office at (701) 328-4145.
Additional information and forms are available at the North Dakota Secretary of State's website located here: http://www.nd.gov/sos/businessserv/registrations/tradename.html.
Cosmetology: 1800 hours of school training.
Esthetician: 600 hours of school training.
Manicure: 350 hours of school training.
NIC Written, North Dakota State Practical, and North Dakota Sanitation practices and cosmetology law.
Out of State applicants applying for North Dakota license without examination. Every person desiring to be licensed as an operator, manicurists, or esthetician without taking the examination shall make application on the form provided by the board (available here), and:
- Pay the application fee.
- Provide proof the applicant is licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician in another jurisdiction and that the applicant's license is in good standing.
- Demonstrate the other jurisdiction's licensure requirements at the time the applicant was licensed by the other jurisdiction were substantially equal to those in North Dakota at the time the North Dakota application was filed. Three thousand hours or more of work experience as a licensed operator will be considered substantially equal to three hundred hours of cosmetology education.
- Pass an examination on North Dakota sanitation practices and cosmetology law.
Method of Disinfection
Article 32-02 of the North Dakota Rules & Regulations describes Method of disinfection.
This section is provided here for your convenience.
Click here for health and safety information regarding footspas.
Blood Spill Procedure
Click here for Blood Spill Procedure guidelines.
Filing a Complaint
To file a complaint, please contact the ND State Board of Cosmetology in writing at:
ND State Board of Cosmetology
PO Box 2177
Bismarck, ND 58502-2177
2013 Board Meeting Dates:
- January 22, 2013
- February 19, 2013
- March 18, 2013
- April 15, 2013
- May 13, 2013
- June 17, 2013
- August 12, 2013
- September 16, 2013
- October 21, 2013
- November 18, 2013
Meetings are held at 9:00 A.M. at the board office in Bismarck. If you wish to add items to the agenda, please call (701) 224-9800 or e-mail us at email@example.com.
Meeting dates and times are subject to change, so please contact our office for confirmation. Agenda is posted at our office two weeks prior to the meeting.