Upholding the practice & standards of North Dakota's beauty industry

Transferring to ND

YOU MAY NOT PROVIDE COSMETOLOGY, MANICURE, OR ESTHETICIAN SERVICES IN THE

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA WITHOUT A CURRENT AND VALID NORTH DAKOTA LICENSE.



To apply for a North Dakota license, first you must submit the following documents for approval:

1.  Reciprocity application - click here to download the application

2.  Copy of birth certificate or U.S. passport.

3.  Copy of a current picture ID.

4.  Work experience affidavit, if needed.

5.  Proof of training. Must have successfully completed course curriculum hours in a
     Cosmetology School.

6.  Proof of licensure. This must be completed by the State Board of Cosmetology where your

     current license is being held. Contact your State Board for a letter of certification and a

     copy of your state license requirements to be sent directly to the ND State Board of

     Cosmetology. A copy of your license is NOT proof of licensure.



International Applicants:

Any records from another country, including records in English, must be evaluated by a Board-approved credentialing agency at the applicant's expense.  The Board has approved the following agencies for all foreign applications:


http://wecseval.com

https://sdreducational.org/services

https://aequointernational.com


Credential evaluations are not free, and applicants are responsible for the cost of the selected service. The cost and the time-frame to perform the service will vary according to the complexity of the case and the amount of documentation provided. The entire credentialing process may take weeks to months. Prior to submitting any documents to a credential evaluation service, applicants may also need to obtain English translations of any non-English documents. They should inquire with the selected organization, which may offer translation services or may provide guidance on how to proceed. 

The Board will not determine what procedures you qualify for until all documents are received.
We will hold all paperwork until certification is received from the state where you hold a license. Once all information is received, the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology will contact you on what procedures you qualify for.

If approved for reciprocity, you will have to take and pass the North Dakota Laws, Rules & Regulations test ($60 payable to PSI Services), and pay the reciprocity fee of $105.00 plus the original license fee. The payment form will be mailed to you if you are approved. Applicants may schedule an examination with PSI Services at https://test-takers.psiexams.com/ndcos or call (855) 579-4638. Examination fees are payable to PSI services. You will receive results immediately following the examination.


  

State of North Dakota
Statutes
Rules and Regulations

ND State Board of Cosmetology
4719 Shelburne St.
Suite 1
Bismarck, ND 58503
Telephone: 701-224-9800
Fax: 701-222-8756
bocinfo@nd.gov